SEO Logo

7th Annual Sustainable Energy Conference
April 20-21, 2010

McKimmon Center
Raleigh, NC





Duke Energy Logo


NCSU MAE Energy Management Program logo

Brady Train logo 

US Environmental Protection Agency logo

Parker Poe logo


Ameresco, Inc. logo

Biofuels Center of NC

ConEdison Solutions logo

Pepco Logo

Progress Energy


Acciona Logo

Dominion logo

General Electric Monogram

Iberdola Logo

North Carolina's Electric Cooperatives logo

Poyner Spruill, LLC logo

Southern Energy Management Logo

Southern States Energy Board logo


BMI Logo

Eaton logo

ElectriCities Logo

NC Farm Bureau of North Carolina

FLS Energy Logo

Honeywell logo


NC Sustainable Energy Association

The NEED Project logo


Praxis Technology logo

PSNC logo

Reznick Group logo

Siemens Logo


7th Annual Sustainable Energy Conference April 20-21, 2010
Daily Agenda with Speaker Presentation Links

Tuesday, April 20, 2010
8:30 a.m. Welcoming Remarks: Ward Lenz, Director, NC Energy Office
9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. Opening Keynote Address by Harry Wingo, Policy Counsel for Google, Inc.
Youtube video link:
10:30 a.m. to Noon Breakout
Session A - Room 5

Business-Lead Incentives

Eric Henry, TS designs

Thomas Fitz, Consultant

Dennis Quaintenance, Proximity Hotel

Kurt Creamer, Novozymes

Dan Estes, Weaver Cooke Construction

Session B- Room 4

Recovery Act

Ward Lenz, NC Energy Office


Session C -Room 3

Solar Energy

Steve Kalland, NC Solar Center
Link to WUNC radio interview with Steve Kalland

Michael Shore, FLS Energy

Bob Kingery, Southern Energy Management

Markus Wilhelm, Solar Tech South
Session D - Room 6

Green/Sustainable Policy

Tim Toben, NC Energy Policy Council

Joe Sam Queen, NC State Senator

Libby Smith, NC Dept. of Commerce

Anne Tazewell, N.C. Solar Center
Noon to 1:30 p.m. Luncheon Keynote Speaker Dr. Henry Kelly, US Department of Energy
Link to Dr. Kelly's Slide Presentation
Link to Youtube video:
1:30 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. Breakout
Session E - Room 5

Small / Emerging Business Assistance

Scott Daugherty, Small Business Technology and Development Center

John Hardin, N.C. Green Business Fund

Egle Thomas, Biofuels Center of North Carolina

Paul Quinlan, NC Sustainable Energy Association

Session F - Room 4

Government Incentives

William Volker, Efficiency Energy

Brian Lips, NC Solar Center

Rusty Hayes, Craven County Water System

Session G - Room 7

NC's Renewable Portfolio Standard

Jo Anne Sanford, N.C. Energy Policy Council

Sam Watson, N.C. Utilities Commission

Ivan Urlaub, NC Sustainable Energy Association

Session H - Room 6

Smart Grid - Session 1

Dan Woodall, Progress Energy

James K. Spainhour, Duke Energy

Mike Caranfa, Elster Solutions

Session I - Room 3

Wind Energy

Henry Campen, Parker Poe

Glenn Cannon, Waverly Power & Light

Dennis Scanlin, Appalachian State University

Craig Poff, Iberdrola Renewables

Tim Conboy, Acciona

Spencer Hanes, Duke Pamlico Sound Project
3:15 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Breakout
Session J - Room 5

Manufacturing Opportunities

Neal Elliott, ACEEE

Garald Cottrell, Wellons Energy

Keith Debbage, UNC Greensboro

Paul Quinlan, NC Sustainable Energy Association

Session K - Room 4

Performance Contracting

Joe Christie, Pepco

Mike O’Connor, Appalachian State University

Phil Dickerson, Pitt County Government

Walter Simmons, City of Greensboro Engineering and Inspections

Session L - Room 3

Residential Retrofit

Ward Lenz, NC Energy Office

Matt Keeler, Advanced Energy

David Nestor, Piedmont Natural Gas

Session M - Room 6

Smart Grid - Session 2

Chuck Sathrum, Elster Solutions

Mark Otersen, ElectriCities

Ewan Pritchard, FREEDM Systems Center

Datta Godbole, Honeywell

Bob Gary, Breezeplay
Wednesday, April 21, 2010
9:00 a.m. to10:00 a.m.

Morning Session with remarks from Governor Bev Perdue
Link to YouTube video:

Keynote Speaker Etan Gumerman, Duke University
Link to Etan Gumerman's Slide Presentation

10:30 a.m. to Noon

Session N - Room 5

Workforce Development

Rick Angeli, Elster Solutions

John Delafield, Central Carolina Community College

Janice Ivey, NC Commerce Department

Norman Smit, Biofuels Center of North Carolina

Session O - Room 6

Utility Incentives

Chris Edge, Progress Energy

Chris Jacobi, Duke Energy

Session P - Room 7

Advanced Lighting

Dan Mull, Carolina Consulting Group

Bob Henderson, Progress Energy

Session Q - Room 4


Dennis Hazel, NC State University

Steven Burke, Biofuels Center of North Carolina

Kurt Creamer, Novozymes

Lyle Estill, Piedmont BioFuels

Session R - Room 8A

Kathy Boyer, Triangle J C.O.G.

Julian Prosser, City of Raleigh

Ewan Pritchard, FREEDM Systems Center

Noon to 1:30 p.m. Luncheon Keynote Speaker: Nate Hurst, Walmart - Director of Sustainability
Youtube video link:
1:30 p.m. to 2:45 p.m.

Session S - Room 4

Green Building Advances

Dona Stankus, NC Solar Center

Bae-Won Koh, Triangle Green Building Coalition

Jonah Butcher, Mathis Consulting

Myron Taschuk, Duke University

Session T - Room 6

Financing Green Initiatives

Paul Herman, HIP Investor

Jeff Hughes, UNC Center for Environmental Finance

Henry McKoy, Forth-Sector Financial

Jennifer Hatch, Facility Strategies Group

Session U - Room 5

Power Transmission

Ed Finley, NC Utilities Commission

Samuel Waters, Progress Energy

Jeff Phillips, Siemens

Session V - Room 7

Case Studies / USI

C.C. Maurer, Advanced Energy

Lee DuVall, Guilford Tech

Chris Martin, UNC-Chapel HillS
2:45 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. Wrap-up Session - Sustainablity: Moving Beyond the Federal Stimulus